Menu Help & How To Video Simulation Game Document & Resources Training Link Tag Search clock thumbs-up angle-up

DRA Fee Q&A

Effective October 1, 2019, the annual DRA federal fee increased to $35 per year when Child Support Services (CSS) collects and issues $550 of child support in the federal fiscal year.  Current and former TANF and AFDC recipients are exempt from the fee.

  • Before October 1, 2019: $25 fee when $500 collected and issued
  • October 1, 2019 and after: $35 fee when $550 collected and issued

Frequently Asked Questions

Who pays the fee?
The custodial person (CP) owes $35.00 after CSS collects and issues $550.00 of child support in a federal fiscal year. After the $550 in support is issued, CSS will take $35.00 from the next child support payment. The fee goes to the federal government.
Do all child support cases pay the fee?
The fee is only due on those cases where CSS collects and issues $550.00 in a year.  Also, the fee does not apply to cases getting TANF or AFDC now or in the past.
When will the fee increase?
The $25.00 fee increased to $35.00 on 10/01/19.  If a CP was assessed a $25 fee prior to 10/01/19 that was not paid but put into recovery to be paid out of future disbursements, they will only pay $25 no matter what federal fiscal year it is collected.  This means that CSS will still have some $25 fees recovered after 10/01/19 that were assessed prior to 10/01/19.
How often is the fee charged?
The fee is charged once every federal fiscal year after CSS collects and send a case $550.00 in child support.
What is a “federal fiscal year”?
It is the 12 months from October 1 to September 30.  CSS adds up support payments starting each October.  After $550.00 is issued, CSS takes $35.00 from the next payment.
How is the fee paid?
CSS will take $35.00 from the next child support collection after it has collected and sent at least $550.00 in a federal fiscal year.
Is there some other way to pay the fee?
The fee must be paid from child support collections.  Do not send fee payments to the Oklahoma Centralized Support Registry.
What if the CP does not get $550.00 in a federal fiscal year?
The $35 fee will not be charged for that year.
What if the CP gets more than $550.00 per year in child support? Will CSS take the $35 more than once?
The fee does not go up if you get more than $550.00.
What if the CP has more than one case?
The federal fee is required on every qualifying case.  If there is more than one case with CSS, there may be multiple fees.
Does the non-custodial parent get credit for the fee collected from support payments?
Federal law says non-custodial parents get full credit for support paid.  For example, if $550.00 was sent this year and then the next payment is $100.00, the non-custodial parent gets credit for paying the $100.00. The CP will get $65.00; the other $35.00 pays the federal fee.
Does the non-custodial parent get credit for the fee collected from support payments?
Federal law says non-custodial parents get full credit for support paid.  For example, if $550.00 was sent this year and then the next payment is $100.00, the non-custodial parent gets credit for paying the $100.00. The CP will get $65.00; the other $35.00 pays the federal fee.
Can the $35 fee be avoided?
CSS must apply the fee to all qualifying open cases.
What is there is Oklahoma support order, but child support services are provided by another state?
CSS will not charge the fee.  The state providing child support services is responsible for the federal fee.  Contact the state with the child support case to learn more.
What is there is Oklahoma support order, but child support services are provided by another state?
CSS will not charge the fee.  The state providing child support services is responsible for the federal fee.  Contact the state with the child support case to learn more.

You may also want to review the article Deficit Reduction Act Fee or Fee Determination Table.